Tag: kriya

  • Rāja Yoga – The Royal Yoga

    Rāja Yoga – The Royal Yoga

    Rāja Yoga – The Ancient Royal Yoga of Rishis  Rāja yoga – „royal yoga”, „royal union”, also known as classical yoga and aṣṭānga yoga) is concerned principally with the cultivation of the viewer’s (ṛṣih) mind using a succession of steps, such as meditation (dhyāna, dhyana) and contemplation (samādhi, samadhi). Its object is to further one’s…

  • Trataka – Foundation of Focus (32)

    Trataka – Foundation of Focus (32)

    Previous ★★★ Index ★★★ Next Focusing, also called concentration, focusing attention or narrowing the field of consciousness, has its own special dimension of practical work in yoga. Mahavatar Patanjali in the Yoga Sutras calls the focusing of consciousness the term satkara. It refers to a state in which our whole mind is merged, absorbed in…